Sir Edward Youde Memorial
Overseas Fellowship / Scholarship
for Disabled Students

The Sir Edward Youde Memorial Overseas Fellowship / Scholarship for Disabled Students is suspended with effect from July 2016 until further notice.

Aim

The Sir Edward Youde Memorial Overseas Fellowship / Scholarship for Disabled Students aims at financing outstanding disabled students for overseas postgraduate or undergraduate studies.  They are expected to contribute significantly to the development of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (Hong Kong) after graduation.

Eligibility

  • Applicants must:
    1. be permanent residents of Hong Kong;
    2. have received at least seven and five years of continuous full-time education in Hong Kong for fellowship and scholarship respectively;
    3. hold good Honours degrees obtained in Hong Kong or equivalent qualifications OR expect to obtain such degrees or equivalent qualifications (applicable for fellowship applicants only);
    4. fulfill all application procedures and admission requirements at the institution of their choices and be offered places subsequently;
    5. have a good mastery of the language in which their studies will be undertaken; and
    6. have special educational needs and/or mental health needs as referred to in the Hong Kong Rehabilitation Programme Plan released by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (including those having physical disabilities, visual impairment, hearing impairment, speech and language impairment, attention deficit / hyperactivity disorders, specific learning difficulties, autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disabilities and/or mental health needs).
  • For further details, please refer to the Information Note of the application year.

Value of Awards

The maximum value of award are HK$300,000 and HK$280,000 for fellowship and scholarship respectively per year.  The Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fund Council may adjust downward the value by taking into account the actual university fees, necessary living expenses and other award(s) held concurrently by the fellow / scholar to finance his/her overseas studies.

Method of Application

The study programme should only commence within one year after the formal announcement of the selection result, which would normally take place in around the next April that follows the closing date of application.  During the application period, application forms can be downloaded from the Student Finance Office's (SFO) webpage, or obtained from SFO, or the Trust Funds and Temples Joint Secretariat.  Completed forms must be returned to the Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fund Council Secretariat before the closing date.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • When should I apply for the award?+ Read Answer
  • I understand that the duration of award for scholarships is up to three years. Will special arrangement be available if I pursue a 4-year degree course, say in USA?+ Read Answer
  • If I am currently pursuing a study programme outside Hong Kong, am I still eligible to apply for the Fellowship / Scholarship awards?+ Read Answer

Further Information

Enquiries should be made to the Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fund Council Secretariat, Room 1217, 12/F, Cheung Sha Wan Government Offices, 303 Cheung Sha Wan Road, Kowloon at telephone number 2150 6097 or 2150 6098.

尤德爵士紀念基金殘疾學生
海外研究生獎學金/獎學金

尤德爵士紀念基金殘疾學生海外研究生獎學金/獎學金計劃由2016年7月起暫停舉辦,直至另行通知為止。

宗旨

尤德爵士紀念基金殘疾學生海外研究生獎學金/獎學金,是特別為資助傑出的殘疾學生往海外修讀研究生或本科生課程所設的。獲資助的學生在學成後,應為香港特別行政區(以下簡稱「香港」)的發展付出努力,盡力貢獻。

申請資格

  • 申請人必須:
    1. 是香港永久居民;
    2. 在香港完成至少連續七年或五年的全日制課程,方可分別申請研究生獎學金或獎學金;
    3. 持有或預期取得由香港頒授的優異榮譽學位或具備同等學歷,可申請研究生獎學金;
    4. 辦妥所選院校的各項申請手續和符合入學條件,其後並獲得取錄;
    5. 能夠熟練運用所修課程的授課語文;以及
    6. 根據香港特別行政區政府所發表的 «香港康復計劃方案» 內指定有特殊教育需要的人士 (概指在肢體傷殘、視障、聽障、言語障礙、注意力不足/過度活躍症、特殊學習困難、自閉症或智障方面需要獲得特殊教育支援的人士)。
  • 其他詳情,請參閱申請學年所派發的申請資料簡介。

獎項款額

每年的研究生獎學金和獎學金最高金額,分別是港幣300,000元及港幣280,000元。尤德爵士紀念基金理事會或會考慮所需的學費、生活費及得獎研究生 / 本科生同時獲得的其他獎學金,下調給予有關研究生 / 本科生往海外深造的資助額。

申請辦法

所選讀課程必須於遴選結果正式公布後的一年內開始,遴選結果通常約於截止申請日期後翌年的四月份公布。在此項計劃接受申請期間,申請表格可在學生資助處(以下簡稱「學資處」)網頁下載,或向學資處、或信託基金及廟宇聯合秘書處索取。表格填妥後,須在截止日期前交回尤德爵士紀念基金理事會秘書處。

常見問題

  • 我應該在何時提出申請?+ 閱讀答案
  • 據我了解,獎學金的期限最長可達 3 年。舉例說,如果我到美國攻讀 4 年制學位課程,是否可有特別安排?+ 閱讀答案
  • 如果我現時正在香港以外地區修讀課程,是否仍有資格申請研究生獎學金 / 獎學金?+ 閱讀答案

其他資料

如有查詢,請與尤德爵士紀念基金理事會秘書處聯絡。地址:九龍長沙灣道303號長沙灣政府合署12樓1217室;電話:2150 6097 或 2150 6098。